European Elections 2019

There is no disease-modifying treatment currently available for dementia. There is varied access to diagnosis, treatment and high-quality care in Ireland and across all Member States.

EU institutions must show leadership by making dementia a priority in the fields of health, research and innovation, and social affairs.

Around 9.1 million people in Europe have dementia and these numbers are expected to increase to 14 million people by 2040, due to the ageing of European societies.  In Ireland, 55,000 people are living with dementia.

About the European Dementia Pledge

About the European Dementia Pledge

The European Dementia Pledge 2019 is a campaign run by The Alzheimer Society of Ireland and Alzheimer Europe calling upon Irish candidates in the European elections to make dementia a European priority and sign this #DementiaPledge2019.

We want candidates to sign the European Dementia Pledge and in doing so show their commitment to people with dementia and their carers. Candidates can contact us at [email protected] to sign the Dementia Pledge.

How you can get involved

● For voters

When you meet a candidate in the European election use our voter prompt card to help outline your concerns. We need as many people as possible to bring these issues to candidates, and we value your support.

● For candidates

Candidates can pledge their support on social media (Twitter and Facebook), simply stating that they support the #DementiaPledge2019

Candidates can download the full European Dementia Pledge 2019 and send their support in an email, simply stating their support for the Pledge.

Emails should be sent to: [email protected]

Find out what candidates are supporting the European Dementia Pledge

You can view the list of candidates already supporting the #DementiaPledge2019 here:

Barry Andrews (Fianna Fail) Dublin
Lynn Boylan (MEP) – Sinn Fein – Dublin
Cyril Brennan (People Before Profit) Midlands-North-West
Gillian Brien (People Before Profit) Dublin
Malcom Byrne (Fianna Fail) South
Matt Carthy MEP (Sinn Fein) Midlands-North-West
Deirdre Clune MEP (Fine Gael) South
Ciaran Cuffe (Green Party) Dublin
Clare Daly (Independents4Change) Dublin
Mark Durkan (Fine Gael) Dublin
Frances Fitzgerald (Fine Gael) Dublin
Luke ‘Ming’ Flanagan MEP (Independent Midlands-North-West)
Gary Gannon (Social Democrats) Dublin
Dominic Hannigan (Labour) Midlands – North
Alice-Mary Higgins (Independent) Dublin
Billy Kelleher (Fianna Fail) South
Seán Kelly MEP (Fine Gael) South
Mairead McGuinness MEP (Fine Gael) Midlands-North-West
Sheila Nunan (Labour) South
Grace O’Sullivan (Green Party) South
Anne Rabbitte (Fianna Fail) Midlands-North-West
Éilis Ryan (The Workers’ Party) Dublin
Adrienne Wallace (People Before Profit) South


For more information about our European election campaign contact Avril Easton (Advocacy Manager) on 01 207 3813 or e-mail [email protected]

Need help?
Call the National Helpline
Back To Top