Dementia Adviser

Our Dementia Advisers work with people with dementia, their families and carers to provide a highly responsive and individualised information and signposting service. No Dementia Advisers are doing any Home Visits at the moment - the support is only over the phone for the time being due to Covid-19 restrictions.

Our Dementia Advisers work with people with dementia, their families and carers to provide a highly responsive and individualised information and signposting service.

Our local Dementia Adviser will work with you to:

  • Provide information and advice throughout your journey with dementia,
  • Help connect you with dementia supports and services,
  • Help connect you with local groups and services and,
  • Help your community to be more dementia friendly.

In 2017, ASI carried out a client survey to understand peoples experience with the dementia adviser service and the impact it had for them and their family. This will in turn help us to deliver the best possible service and to advocate for more dementia advisers in Ireland. You can read the results of the survey here

This service is free and confidential. Dementia Advisers are not doing any home visits at the moment – the support is only over the phone for the time being due to Covid-19 restrictions.

Our Dementia Advisers are:

  • Galway
    Maureen Mannion
    Phone: 086 821 1540
    Email: maureen.mannion@alzheimer.ie
    View information PDF HERE
  • South Dublin and North Wicklow
    Aine Bennett
    Phone: 085 801 9186
    E-mail: aine.bennett@alzheimer.ie
    View information PDF HERE
  • South Dublin
    Jean Scanlon
    Phone: 086 0454703
    Email: jscanlan@alzheimer.ie
    View information PDF HERE
  • North Dublin
    Ana Dalton
    Phone: 086 7826312
    Email: adalton@alzheimer.ie
    View information PDF HERE
  • North Dublin
    Joanne Brennan
    Phone: 086 380 8492
    Email: jbrennan@alzheimer.ie
    View information PDF HERE
  • South Lee, Cork South City, South and West Cork; South Kerry, Dingle
    Vanessa Bradbury
    Phone: 021 497 2504 / 086 021 8463
    Email: vbradbury@alzheimer.ie
    View information PDF HERE
  • North Lee, North Cork, North East Kerry and Dingle
    Amy Murphy
    Phone: 086 781 2217
    Email: amurphy@alzheimer.ie
    View information PDF HERE
  • Cavan, Monaghan and Louth
    Maeve Montgomery
    Phone 087 748 9258
    Email: mmontgomery@alzheimer.ie
    View information PDF HERE
  • Limerick, Clare, North Tipperary
    Sean Donal O’Shea
    Mob: 0870926617
    Email: seandonal.oshea@alzheimer.ie
    View information PDF HERE
  • Carlow, Kilkenny
    Claire Cahill
    Mob: 0876857427
    Email: claire.cahill@alzheimer.ie
    View information PDF HERE
  • Longford, Westmeath, Meath
    Karen Jennings
    Mob: 0872541319
    Email: karen.jennings@alzheimer.ie
    View information PDF HERE
  • Wexford, South Wicklow
    Laurence Collins
    Mob: 087 350 0312
    Email: laurence.collins@alzheimer.ie
    View information PDF HERE
  • Waterford, South Tipperary 
    Anne Marie Veale
    Mob: 087 238 8444
    Email: annmarie.veale@alzheimer.ie
    View information PDF HERE
  • Donegal
    Dawn Thompson
    Mob: 087 380 2957
    Email: dawn.thompson@alzheimer.ie
    View information PDF HERE
  • Roscommon, Sligo, Leitrim
    Teresa Keegan
    Mob 087 706 1183:
    Email: teresa.keegan@alzheimer.ie
    View information PDF HERE

If there is no Dementia Adviser in your area our Helpline Advisers are available to help people living anywhere in Ireland. Our Helpline Advisers will work with you to help meet your information and support needs and help you to contact local supports and services in your community. Read more about this service by clicking HERE

The Helpline Service is open
Monday to Friday, 10 am to 5 pm
Saturday, 10 am to 4 pm
Phone: 1800 341 341
Email: helpline@alzheimer.ie

For enquiries about the Dementia Advisor Service contact:

Annie Dillon
National Coordinator, Dementia Advisor Service
adillon@alzheimer.ie
086 4670667

News Update

The ASI received funding late in 2020 from the HSE/Slaintecare to expand our Dementia Advisor Service. We are working collaboratively with the National Dementia Office to deliver a nationwide DA service.
From Mid May we will have 2 further Dementia Advisors available in counties Laois/Offaly and Kildare/West Wicklow.

 

Funded by the HSE

Dementia Adviser

Print List

Note:

Dementia Adviser, Laurence Collins is available to people living in Sth Wicklow & Wexford. This service is free and confidential.

North Wicklow Dementia Adviser

South Dublin / North Wicklow
Contact: Aine Bennett
Phone: 085 801 9186

Note:

Dementia Adviser, Aine Bennett is available to people living in North Wicklow. This service is free and confidential.

Need help?
Call the National Helpline
Back To Top